Reviews

What people are saying about Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant


Date Submitted:13 Apr 2018  Booking ID:700AB6
view booking details
Traveller from Bexley, GB    Date of stay 09 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes

12 Apr 2018
10 Apr 2018
Walker
5


Date Submitted:12 Apr 2018  Booking ID:7D6B04
view booking details
Traveller from West Sussex, GB    Date of stay 10 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes
Comments about this property
A wonderful evening in a fascinating old building.
Dinner, breakfast and company all great, thank you.

07 Apr 2018
03 Apr 2018
Shakeshaft
5


Date Submitted:07 Apr 2018  Booking ID:76C540
view booking details
Traveller from Nr Stourbridge, GB    Date of stay 03 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes
Comments about this property
Beautiful Hotel, nice comfortable room, very good food.

07 Apr 2018
05 Apr 2018
Guyver
5


Date Submitted:07 Apr 2018  Booking ID:7BEF38
view booking details
Traveller from Devon, GB    Date of stay 05 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes
Comments about this property
Thanks for a lovely stay. The food was superb.



Great stay! - Rating 5/5

A fabulously interesting and quirky place offering offering awarm welcome and excellent food in the restaurant. Aa memorable visit.

Reviewer:Lizzie W | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


A place not to miss - Rating 5/5

A very old Inn providing excellent food and service, a visit is a must. Book if you want to eat here, just in case it is busy (as it seems it is)!We stayed 2 nights in a very comfortable and clean bedroom with a great breakfast for reasonable cost, but as there are only 7 bedrooms again it is best to book!Service was excellent from a happy staff and beers wine and food of great quality.Be sure to see the standing stones built into the walls - one of which is about 4000 years old.If asked "Would I go again?"the reply would be not just "Yes"but "Yes I would really like to!"

Reviewer:IRVINE W | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


A lowering of the blood pressure! - Rating 5/5

A lovely, relaxing stay in a beautiful old inn. What used to be outside is now inside and thus the church house became a monastery. Fantastic food and ambience. A place to relax and just be. One can feel the departed ghosts around you, as I did, the next morning, reluctantly... I'll be back.

Reviewer:Gary M | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Great hotel, bar and retaurant - Rating 5/5

Great Hotel with really great hosts, a warm welcome and great time we had.The bed was marvelous, never had a hotel bed quite as good as this.Food was very good, with a bar stocked with more choice than you can manage over 3 nights.Only a short walk to the moor, then as far as you like, back later in the afternoon for more drinks.Will cetainly come again.

Reviewer:Ian H | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Favourite Pub updated - Rating 5/5

We stayed here many years ago with our dogs but it was sold by orig owners, refurbished & no dogs allowed. Altho disappointed by this we always wanted to rtn & finally made it.Rooms much improved with very comfortable beds modern ensuites added & decor improved while maintaining the original beams. Food excellent - Very good breakfast & evng meals with wonderful surroundings of a 15C pub maintained in excellent condition & friendly staff. Only downside for us was we found the room very hot at night & we wish they had a few rooms which allowed dogs & we wld definitely rtn.

Reviewer:Marilyn T | Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Ideal short break. - Rating 5/5

Lovely bedrooms and excellent restaurant.

Reviewer:Michael Y | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

It was a lovely way to spend my Birthday, thank you all for making it special. A warm an comfy stay.

Reviewer:Jenny R | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


fabulous weekend - Rating 5/5

theoxenham arms weekend everything you would want .Good position,friendly and polite staff,very clean rooms ,good breakfast and evening meals.Enough said

Reviewer:mr l | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great shortbreak location - Rating 5/5

We booked as a last minute choice after our ferry was cancelled and really enjoyed our impromptu short stay.The hotel is a wonderful looking property and really atmospheric.We stayed in the Belstone room which was lovely with a big four poster bed and the sounds of geese outside.The bar is really snug and we had a lovely meal in there in the evening.The food was great and the staff were brilliant.Everyone was really friendly and happy to stopand have a chat about anything.Altogether a brilliant unexpected stop off which made our ferry cancellation as blessing in disguise.

Reviewer:Adrian H | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely, peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our mini break in Dartmoor. Staff were really friendly, nothing too much bother, and we felt very welcome. Room was really spacious and comfy bed.

Reviewer:Susan H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Family wedding, perfect location for the venue - Rating 5/5

Great welcome on arrival, beautiful room, very clean, can’t praise Lynn and Simon enough also John from serving us at the bar to dinner and breakfast. Fabulous location, steeped in history. Food was stunning, compliments to chef and all kitchen staff. Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Mandy Roelich| Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great atmosphere with food to match! - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Had dinner there on our first night and it was so good we ate there on the second night as well. Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:MARION E | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Gem of a place - Rating 5/5

I cannot praise the owners of the Oxenham enough.From the warm welcome we received to the genuine gratitude we were shown for staying.As our room wasn’t available we were upgraded at no extra cost. The room was exceptionally clean with a huge, extremely comfortable 4 poster bed.The breakfast was excellent as was the service we received.Our only regret was only being able to stay the one night due to our itinerary.Will definitely be making a return visit very soon.

Reviewer:Russell C | Fri 24th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Fabulous ! - Rating 5/5

We received a lovely welcome to the most amazing building steeped in history. The room was absolutely lovely and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. The food was superb and there was plenty of choice. We will be back. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Chris B | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


MR & Mrs- Rating 4/5

Second visit and we definitely will return. Verywelcoming. Steeped in history. We were very amused by the pictures of the merry monks in the restaurant. Food was great and John was always on hand to keep the conversation going in the bar.See you soonThe Abrahams’

Reviewer:Tony A | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


The most comfortable bed – ever! - Rating 5/5

Really lovely staying here during the Dartmoor folk festival. There was live music playing below our room which was lovely and both myself and husband fell asleep before it had finished for the night. The most comfortable bed and bedding. Don't think I moved all night! Good blackout curtains too. I have so much trouble sleeping with thin, see through curtains.

Reviewer:Danielle C | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Stay aug 9-10. - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night, had guests who joined us for dinner and an equally scrummy breakfast.Lovely property, very good service and we shall stay there again.Richard Leitch.

Reviewer:Richard L | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


A hotel for lovers of history - and good food! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the peace and quiet in our comfortable room ( Chagford) with excellent en suite. Full of character like the rest of this delightful hotel. The bar was v. Friendly busy place , the restaurant , heart of the ancient monastery, was a lovely room to eat in. The dinner and breakfast were well cooked and we had ample choice. All in all we shall recommend the Oxenham Arms to anyone wanting a break in this picturesque Dartmoor village.

Reviewer:mrs w | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay and explore Dartmoor, with friendly staff, good food and a relaxing atmosphere.

Reviewer:Geoffrey B | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Anniversary Celebration in a lovely setting. - Rating 5/5

Room and Hotel lovely.Food exceptional.Local knowledge and advice on walks easily available.Staff very helpful and polite.Made our celebration of our 30th wedding Anniversary brilliant.

Reviewer:Carolyn T | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay again- Rating 5/5

Our second stay at the Oxenham, just as memorable and fun as the first!

Reviewer:Andrew M | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Great hotel on the edge of Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

Beautiful old hotel, full,of character.The room was airy and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom.The staff were polite and helpful.We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was delicious .Would definitely recommend the hotel.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Louise S | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Great historic hotel - Rating 5/5

Another relaxing stay at the atmospheric Oxenham Arms. Great hosts, rooms & food. Highly recommended as a base for a Dartmoor visit yet still within an hour's drive of the south coast of Devon.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Eddie Yates| Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful five night stay in May. Very comfortable, everybody so friendly and helpful and the cooking was first class. We loved the historic atmosphere and the peaceful location in the village. We hope to return.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Aubrey Matthews| Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Atmospheric old coaching house with great food and accommodation- Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at th Oxenham arms.From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome and excellent service. The room was lovely with nice views and very comfortable bed. Really enjoyed our evening meal and recommend the night porter cheese board and half bottle of port! Special mention to John in the bar and restaurant who makes so much effort to engage with customers. Good base for national park or stop of A30 and nice pretty village of South Zeal. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Julie V | Sun 20th May 2018 | 6 months ago


A Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful hotel where we stayed for two nights in late April 18. With a very warm welcome from Simon, the proprietor I immediately felt at home. we were given the Lydford room and although the bathroom was a tad on the small size it certainly did not impact on our stay. The room itself was lovely with the most beautiful large four poster you can imagine, so comfortable and quiet.Dinner did not disappoint, and with lively conversation with John at the bar we had the most pleasant evening.Breakfast was spot on with a great choice and great coffee !!We found everyone so friendly and the actual hotel packed with history. We look forward to a return visit.

Reviewer:Mary G | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat