Reviews

What people are saying about Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant




Belstone Room Oxenham ArmsSoth Zeal - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at The Oxenham Arms . The room was beautiful with en suite facilities. The breakfast was good and the food available in the evening was excellent. Friendly staff and locals added to the enjoyment. Would certainly come back again and hope to do so!

Reviewer:Dorothy F | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


one night stay - Cornwall bound - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome;comfortable room;excellent food. We found the history of the place very interesting and the garden absolutely charming.

Reviewer:Dennis D | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Everything was perfect - Rating 5/5

A big thank you to Simon for his hospitality and ensuring our stay was the best possible. The converted monastery and history of the building is fascinating. The hotel is in a great location for access to Dartmoor and surrounds. Breakfast was delicious!

Reviewer:Ross P | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Recent short stay- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Excellent food and friendly service. We will stay again if we are in this area.

Reviewer:Susan F | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely old inn, clean and comfortable. Huge bath towels, very comfy bed, helpful staff.

Reviewer:Felicity C | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend break- Rating 5/5

A quaint,welcoming hotel. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Food delicious and all freshly prepared. Rooms quirky and plenty of history about the building. Certainly all made for a wnderful long weekend wish we could have stayed longer

Reviewer:Angela B | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Special one-night stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Belstone room for our anniversary. The bed is the feature of the room - huge, crisp, comfortable and all-imposing. The room is clean as a whistle and the night comes pouring in through the diamond-paned windows thick and dark and silent. We had an enormous breakfast, cheerfully and efficiently served, and the breakfast room completely captures the age and character of the whole ancient inn. It is a unique place - granite, timber and warmth of spirit. Anyone would love it here.

Reviewer:Greg M | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


An excellent couple of days. - Rating 5/5

We were lucky to find the Oxenham Arms by accident, wonderful stay, nice touches to make most comfortable room. Dinners and breakfast 1st class, as were the staff, and certainly intend to re-visit. 15 out of 10!!

Reviewer:Mr H | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely old pub and hotel- Rating 5/5

A great place to stay very friendly and clean old world charm and great atmosphere as well as fantastic food and some great real ale!!!definitely worth it and also location stunning.

Reviewer:colin w | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Absolutely fabulous - Rating 5/5

We really loved this place.It's old, but tastefully renovated so as to maintain all its character.As soon as you walk in, you are made to feel very welcome and this doesn't change throughout your stay. The garden is beautiful (overlooking Dartmoor)and peaceful;and the food is delicious and reasonably priced.Ideally located for trips around Dartmoor and for walking on the moor itself.Can definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Helen P | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Little Gem - Rating 4/5

We pickedout the Oxenham Arms hotelfrom the Internet as a overnight venue on the way down to Cornwall .We loved it from the moment we walked in, it oozes atmosphere and history.The evening meal was delicious and the breakfast just perfect .

Reviewer:Sarah D | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel is full of history which you see the minute you arrive.We stayed in the Lustleigh Room which had a lovely 4 poster bed, creaky floors and ivy battling to get in from the window!Our evening meals were delicious and the service was very good.The fish and chips and chicken curry were great and the coffee and mini pud perfect for full tummies.Breakfast was also good in the morning.A short but enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Lucy M | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Beautiful hotel- Rating 5/5

Oxenham Arms amazing hotel, full of history, beautiful surroundings , fantastic food, lovely staff, excellent facilities, set in the lovely village of South Zeal,, excellent location, close to Dartmoor and ExeterHighly recommended

Reviewer:June s | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Our fourth stay at Oxenham Arms - excellent value in a cosy and comfortable inn.

Reviewer:Michael Y | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


great stay at the oxenham arms - Rating 5/5

This being are third stay in the last six months tells you how highly we rate it. Excellent and friendly staff great food, and hope to be back before the end of the year. Great thanks to Lyne and Simon

Reviewer:mrs christine c | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

fabulousplace room was fantastic staff were very friendly and attentive the breakfast was first class . had dinner in there resturant which great overall a fantastic place to stay

Reviewer:Michael R | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Consistent quality- Rating 5/5

Very much enjoyed our stopover here on the way to Cornwall. Fabulous building, elegant warm room and excellent service. Lovely village. Will stay again if needing stopover in the future.

Reviewer:William W | Fri 7th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Relaxed charm - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay, the food was amazing, staff delightful and the charming garden a quiet, restful spot.Everything was spotless and the service was professional care, pitch at the right level for us.We loved it.

Reviewer:Ruth W | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Oxenham arms hotel and restaurant - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel and staff easy to get on with food was great so was our room

Reviewer:alan t | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Beautiful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay, in a beautiful area. The staff were very friendly and accommodating all the time. The food was of a very high standard. Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Nicci A | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Another superb vis - Rating 5/5

This was our fifth visit to a place which never fails to meet our high expectations. Wonderful atmosphere, drink, food, welcome, everything.

Reviewer:Garry P | Thu 30th May 2019 | 2 months ago


A must stay Hotel ! - Rating 5/5

The Location is great for those visitingDartmoor etc. The Hotel is beautiful, has excellent views from its gardens , The staff really make you feel important and are very efficient , the rooms are excellent and have all you need. Beer in the bar and drinks selection is to die for. Food is the finest you will get any where and the selection vast and varied . They have an excellent wine menu too.We will return !!! Brilliant thank you .

Reviewer:LESLIE V | Tue 28th May 2019 | 2 months ago


wedding anniversary celebration - Rating 5/5

Very friendly reception, good food and good service. Room clean and tidy. No problems at all for entire stay.

Reviewer:Graeme B | Tue 28th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Comfiest bed ever! - Rating 5/5

The Belstone Room, with its four-poster bed, leaded windows and large en-suite bathroom, is heaven. It is the comfiest bed we have slept in for years and we enjoyed the fluffy white bathroom towels and free toiletries. Food was amazing:fresh, portions that were just right and the gin selection is impressive!

Reviewer:Jessica B | Mon 13th May 2019 | 3 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at the Oxenham Arms. The Four Poster bed was very comfortable, the room was big and very clean. The food was delicious. The staff were very friendly.

Reviewer:Jenny M | Mon 13th May 2019 | 3 months ago


A gem of a place- Rating 5/5

I can't recommend the Oxenham Arms highly enough. We had a fabulous two night stay (in the Bovey room) over the Ten Tors weekend. The welcome was warm and the staff superb. The quality of the food (dinner and breakfast) was also fantastic. The hotel is a wonderful old building full of character and atmosphere.

Reviewer:Janine W | Mon 13th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Return Visit for Birthday Celebration- Rating 5/5

Returned to celebrate Martins birthday-family joined us for a surprise meal &then the 2 of us stayed 3 nights. It is always lovely to come back &see our friends Lyn, Simon &the Team again to a warm welcome &John's humour ;-) adding to the charm. Stayed in Lydford room, not stayed in before-beautiful, comfortable &peaceful. Geoff &team continue to produce exception food, with a menu to suit all. Recommend to any adults who want a treat or want to spend a quiet break away from it all in a pretty village. We have been coming here since Lyn &Simon took it on and we will be back again, they are doing a wonderful job! Thank you. XX

Reviewer:Mrs Claire P | Sat 11th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

We all thoroughly enjoyed are stay.All staff were very friendly and helpful.The building is amazing with many different aspects stretching over a huge time scale.Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Judith P | Fri 3rd May 2019 | 3 months ago


Birthday stay - Rating 5/5

An historic building of some grandeur but with all the creature comforts providing accommodation in stylish rooms with four poster beds!The menu choice was varied and delivered by friendly and efficient staff.Uniquely our wakeup call was from the Geese.And the breakfast choice was just right.A perfect birthday break.

Reviewer:Roger K | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful stay. - Rating 5/5

We spent two fantastic nights here and enjoyed every minute of it. The food was delicious,the staff extremely friendly, the beautiful rooms clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for? Oh yes,some wonderful Devon views. Well they were on tap too in the large, flower-filled garden. Will definitely go again.

Reviewer:Elaine M | Sat 20th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Oxenham Arms Hotel - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved this hotel! Fabulous room with very impressive four poster bed.The food was incredible, we ate in the restaurant both nights and were not disappointed. The breakfast was also exceptional and set us up for a days walking on the moors.Will definitely be back as we received a warm welcome and this hotel is so well placed for walking the beautiful Dartmoor.

Reviewer:Karen R | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


A perfect weekend in a former Benedictine monastery! - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous weekend :lovely, comfortable rooms;beautiful walks in Dartmoor, direct from the Inn;delicious cuisine and really fabulous staff who make you feel very welcome. We felt very cared for and laughed so much. Thank you Lynn , Simon and John for looking after us so well.Within 5 minutes, my husband knew we would return to this special place. However, it might be with our rowdy friends!

Reviewer:Elaine H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Wonderful weekend in historic setting. - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous weekend :lovely, comfortable rooms;beautiful walks in Dartmoor, direct from the Inn;delicious cuisine and really fabulous staff who make you feel very welcome. We felt very cared for and laughed so much. Thank you Lynn , Simon and John for looking after us so well.Within 5 minutes, my husband knew we would return to this special place. However, it might be with our rowdy friends!

Reviewer:Elaine H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you to Lyn, Simon &team at The Oxenham Arms. We had a fantastic stay in one of the beautiful, clean and comfortable rooms.The welcome on arrival was relaxed and hassle free. Great atmosphere in the bar before our evening meal, which was superb.Breakfast was served in the historical dining room, faultless.We will certainly being frequenting The Oxenham Arms again very soon.Many thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer:Lisa P | Thu 11th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Amazing stay- Rating 5/5

We researched all of our planned stays over our 2 week road trip through the UK. We had expected the Oxenham Arms to be impressive but this place is next level. History in every room, fantastic food &friendly staff who can’t do enough for you, we slept in the monks room in the old monastery section and once up our stone stairs and ducking to enter through the door we were in a world of our own. Don’t hesitate to stay here, highly recommend.

Reviewer:Therese F | Fri 5th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Amazing history- Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, the whole hotel is full of history and every room has interesting information. Loved the fact no attempt had been made to modernise at the expense of the history.The food was very good and the bed linen towels etc of good quality.

Reviewer:Stephen f | Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night whilst travelling thru devon. Food was excellent in the restaurant and the four poster bed was very comfortable in our room. We both really liked the history of the place and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewer:Christopher J | Wed 20th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Valentine’ s weekend - Rating 5/5

A lovely treat complete with luxurious four poster bed, an extensive gin menu, super food and excellent service. The inn itself is an amazing place and ecen has a 5000 year old neolithicmenhir in the snug! Well worth a visit.

Reviewer:Robert P | Tue 19th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


S - Rating 5/5

Our stay was really lovely,starting with friendly welcoming staff, beautiful clean cosy room with all the facilities you could need. The food was absolutely amazing we ate dinner in the bar which was cosy with roaring fire, followed by fantastic breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Phillipa M | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Fantastic place to stay serving wonderful food - Rating 5/5

Our stay was really lovely,starting with friendly welcoming staff, beautiful clean cosy room with all the facilities you could need. The food was absolutely amazing we ate dinner in the bar which was cosy with roaring fire, followed by fantastic breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Phillipa M | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


What a fantastic find!! - Rating 5/5

Have just got back from 4 night stay.We arrived to a very warm welcome and from then until the time we left nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff, who were really kind, thoughtful and friendly.Accommodation very comfortable, food fantastic and general ambience first class.Can’t praise the Oxenham highly enough and are looking forward to a return visit!

Reviewer:Terry T | Tue 29th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

I count myself a very lucky man to have found the Oxenham Arms. Stayed here for three nights while on business near Tavistock. I was immediately struck by the friendly welcome and even more charmed by the history of the place. No bits of wood stuck on the ceilings here to add character, this is the genuine article. The room was clean and tidy and the en-suite as modern and efficient as could be. Normally on such a trip I might eat in only on the first night, but so good was the food that it never occurred to me to go elsewhere, and all served with the right combination of easy going cheerfulness and efficiency. Just superb, all of it. Often, as you leave a hotel you say something along the lines of 'hope to be back soon.' This time I really meant it.

Reviewer:Michael T | Tue 29th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Breaking the journey- Rating 5/5

This is my fourth visit. Friendly, welcome, and comfortable as always, and conveniently close to A30. Charming village too, for those wanting a morning or evening walk.

Reviewer:William C | Fri 25th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Stayed January 2019 - Rating 5/5

Great weekend, lovely rooms, friendly staff and fab food. Will definitely be going back!

Reviewer:Gina H | Mon 21st Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is the third time we have stayed at the Oxenham Arms and we shall certainly be returning.There is always a warm welcome and the rooms are very comfortable.The food is also excellent.

Reviewer:Mr Mike Fearey| Fri 11th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Brown’s in Devon - Rating 5/5

As always, a lovely stay. Christmas decorations were very festive and much appreciated.

Reviewer:C B | Wed 12th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


Mid week break- Rating 5/5

Excellent, couldn’t fault anything.

Reviewer:C B | Fri 7th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was comfortable and clean with huge four poster bed. Lyn, Simon, John and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was amazing. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:JULIA B | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


A pleasant & interesting stay - Rating 5/5

A most interesting place to stay for a break – intriguing very old building, welcoming and considerate owner-managers Simon and Lyn and staff, delicious dinner and breakfast and a very comfortable, freshly redecorated room (The Belstone).The ghost in our room was as accommodating as the owners and did nothing to make us feel anything other than welcome.The unusually cold spell made any lengthy walk in the pretty countryside an unappealing prospect – but we left with the thought that a 3-mile local ramble in the Spring or Summer next year might be an excellent idea!

Reviewer:James S | Thu 22nd Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Fabulous time - Rating 5/5

We spent three nights at the Oxenham Arms. Made to feel very welcome. Thank you John who looked after us serving us drinks and organising our dinning requirements and to Simon and Lynn for making our stay very enjoyable and the chef - the food is really good.

Reviewer:Mike A | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

A fabulously interesting and quirky place offering offering awarm welcome and excellent food in the restaurant. Aa memorable visit.

Reviewer:Lizzie W | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


A place not to miss - Rating 5/5

A very old Inn providing excellent food and service, a visit is a must. Book if you want to eat here, just in case it is busy (as it seems it is)!We stayed 2 nights in a very comfortable and clean bedroom with a great breakfast for reasonable cost, but as there are only 7 bedrooms again it is best to book!Service was excellent from a happy staff and beers wine and food of great quality.Be sure to see the standing stones built into the walls - one of which is about 4000 years old.If asked "Would I go again?"the reply would be not just "Yes"but "Yes I would really like to!"

Reviewer:IRVINE W | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


A lowering of the blood pressure! - Rating 5/5

A lovely, relaxing stay in a beautiful old inn. What used to be outside is now inside and thus the church house became a monastery. Fantastic food and ambience. A place to relax and just be. One can feel the departed ghosts around you, as I did, the next morning, reluctantly... I'll be back.

Reviewer:Gary M | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Great hotel, bar and retaurant - Rating 5/5

Great Hotel with really great hosts, a warm welcome and great time we had.The bed was marvelous, never had a hotel bed quite as good as this.Food was very good, with a bar stocked with more choice than you can manage over 3 nights.Only a short walk to the moor, then as far as you like, back later in the afternoon for more drinks.Will cetainly come again.

Reviewer:Ian H | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Favourite Pub updated - Rating 5/5

We stayed here many years ago with our dogs but it was sold by orig owners, refurbished &no dogs allowed. Altho disappointed by this we always wanted to rtn &finally made it.Rooms much improved with very comfortable beds modern ensuites added &decor improved while maintaining the original beams. Food excellent - Very good breakfast &evng meals with wonderful surroundings of a 15C pub maintained in excellent condition &friendly staff. Only downside for us was we found the room very hot at night &we wish they had a few rooms which allowed dogs &we wld definitely rtn.

Reviewer:Marilyn T | Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Ideal short break. - Rating 5/5

Lovely bedrooms and excellent restaurant.

Reviewer:Michael Y | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

It was a lovely way to spend my Birthday, thank you all for making it special. A warm an comfy stay.

Reviewer:Jenny R | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


fabulous weekend - Rating 5/5

theoxenham arms weekend everything you would want .Good position,friendly and polite staff,very clean rooms ,good breakfast and evening meals.Enough said

Reviewer:mr l | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Great shortbreak location - Rating 5/5

We booked as a last minute choice after our ferry was cancelled and really enjoyed our impromptu short stay.The hotel is a wonderful looking property and really atmospheric.We stayed in the Belstone room which was lovely with a big four poster bed and the sounds of geese outside.The bar is really snug and we had a lovely meal in there in the evening.The food was great and the staff were brilliant.Everyone was really friendly and happy to stopand have a chat about anything.Altogether a brilliant unexpected stop off which made our ferry cancellation as blessing in disguise.

Reviewer:Adrian H | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely, peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our mini break in Dartmoor. Staff were really friendly, nothing too much bother, and we felt very welcome. Room was really spacious and comfy bed.

Reviewer:Susan H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Family wedding, perfect location for the venue - Rating 5/5

Great welcome on arrival, beautiful room, very clean, can’t praise Lynn and Simon enough also John from serving us at the bar to dinner and breakfast. Fabulous location, steeped in history. Food was stunning, compliments to chef and all kitchen staff. Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Mandy Roelich| Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Great atmosphere with food to match! - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Had dinner there on our first night and it was so good we ate there on the second night as well. Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:MARION E | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Belstone Room - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff welcome .. Comfortable room .. The Four Poster bed was lovely .. Unfortunately though this room is over the kitchens and what we assume are the fridges could be heard running all night which was a shame .. also this room had no wi-fi connection .. The breakfast waiter was wonderful as was the breakfast :o)

Reviewer:W. B | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Gem of a place - Rating 5/5

I cannot praise the owners of the Oxenham enough.From the warm welcome we received to the genuine gratitude we were shown for staying.As our room wasn’t available we were upgraded at no extra cost. The room was exceptionally clean with a huge, extremely comfortable 4 poster bed.The breakfast was excellent as was the service we received.Our only regret was only being able to stay the one night due to our itinerary.Will definitely be making a return visit very soon.

Reviewer:Russell C | Fri 24th Aug 2018 | 12 months ago


Fabulous ! - Rating 5/5

We received a lovely welcome to the most amazing building steeped in history. The room was absolutely lovely and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. The food was superb and there was plenty of choice. We will be back. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Chris B | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


MR & Mrs- Rating 4/5

Second visit and we definitely will return. Verywelcoming. Steeped in history. We were very amused by the pictures of the merry monks in the restaurant. Food was great and John was always on hand to keep the conversation going in the bar.See you soonThe Abrahams’

Reviewer:Tony A | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was excellent.Apart from a slight miscommunication over the time that the hotel closed it's doors at night there is nothing that can be said against the staff and this did not spoil our stay.We will have no hesitation in booking here again.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


The most comfortable bed – ever! - Rating 5/5

Really lovely staying here during the Dartmoor folk festival. There was live music playing below our room which was lovely and both myself and husband fell asleep before it had finished for the night. The most comfortable bed and bedding. Don't think I moved all night! Good blackout curtains too. I have so much trouble sleeping with thin, see through curtains.

Reviewer:Danielle C | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was excellent.Apart from a slight miscommunication over the time that the hotel closed it's doors at night there is nothing that can be said against the staff and this did not spoil our stay.We will have no hesitation in booking here again.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay aug 9-10. - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night, had guests who joined us for dinner and an equally scrummy breakfast.Lovely property, very good service and we shall stay there again.Richard Leitch.

Reviewer:Richard L | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A hotel for lovers of history - and good food! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the peace and quiet in our comfortable room ( Chagford) with excellent en suite. Full of character like the rest of this delightful hotel. The bar was v. Friendly busy place , the restaurant , heart of the ancient monastery, was a lovely room to eat in. The dinner and breakfast were well cooked and we had ample choice. All in all we shall recommend the Oxenham Arms to anyone wanting a break in this picturesque Dartmoor village.

Reviewer:mrs w | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay and explore Dartmoor, with friendly staff, good food and a relaxing atmosphere.

Reviewer:Geoffrey B | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and friendly- Rating 5/5

Had a room above kitchen so room seemed hot on arrival (great in winter) some noise from general kitchen clatter but very quiet once closed. I’m a light sleeper.Beautiful views from double aspect room and comfy bed. Clean and everything you need. Breakfastdoesn’t start until 8.30 so I missed it as had to get to Bristol.

Reviewer:Sharon M | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Anniversary Celebration in a lovely setting. - Rating 5/5

Room and Hotel lovely.Food exceptional.Local knowledge and advice on walks easily available.Staff very helpful and polite.Made our celebration of our 30th wedding Anniversary brilliant.

Reviewer:Carolyn T | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay again- Rating 5/5

Our second stay at the Oxenham, just as memorable and fun as the first!

Reviewer:Andrew M | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great hotel on the edge of Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

Beautiful old hotel, full,of character.The room was airy and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom.The staff were polite and helpful.We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was delicious .Would definitely recommend the hotel.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Louise S | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great historic hotel - Rating 5/5

Another relaxing stay at the atmospheric Oxenham Arms. Great hosts, rooms &food. Highly recommended as a base for a Dartmoor visit yet still within an hour's drive of the south coast of Devon.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Eddie Yates| Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful five night stay in May. Very comfortable, everybody so friendly and helpful and the cooking was first class. We loved the historic atmosphere and the peaceful location in the village. We hope to return.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Aubrey Matthews| Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Atmospheric old coaching house with great food and accommodation- Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at th Oxenham arms.From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome and excellent service. The room was lovely with nice views and very comfortable bed. Really enjoyed our evening meal and recommend the night porter cheese board and half bottle of port! Special mention to John in the bar and restaurant who makes so much effort to engage with customers. Good base for national park or stop of A30 and nice pretty village of South Zeal. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Julie V | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


A Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful hotel where we stayed for two nights in late April 18. With a very warm welcome from Simon, the proprietor I immediately felt at home. we were given the Lydford room and although the bathroom was a tad on the small size it certainly did not impact on our stay. The room itself was lovely with the most beautiful large four poster you can imagine, so comfortable and quiet.Dinner did not disappoint, and with lively conversation with John at the bar we had the most pleasant evening.Breakfast was spot on with a great choice and great coffee !!We found everyone so friendly and the actual hotel packed with history. We look forward to a return visit.

Reviewer:Mary G | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat