Reviews

What people are saying about Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant


Date Submitted:13 Apr 2018  Booking ID:700AB6
view booking details
Traveller from Bexley, GB    Date of stay 09 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes

12 Apr 2018
10 Apr 2018
Walker
5


Date Submitted:12 Apr 2018  Booking ID:7D6B04
view booking details
Traveller from West Sussex, GB    Date of stay 10 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes
Comments about this property
A wonderful evening in a fascinating old building.
Dinner, breakfast and company all great, thank you.

07 Apr 2018
03 Apr 2018
Shakeshaft
5


Date Submitted:07 Apr 2018  Booking ID:76C540
view booking details
Traveller from Nr Stourbridge, GB    Date of stay 03 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes
Comments about this property
Beautiful Hotel, nice comfortable room, very good food.

07 Apr 2018
05 Apr 2018
Guyver
5


Date Submitted:07 Apr 2018  Booking ID:7BEF38
view booking details
Traveller from Devon, GB    Date of stay 05 Apr 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Facilities
Service / Staff
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
5 - Excellent
Would you recommend this property to other travellers?
Yes
Comments about this property
Thanks for a lovely stay. The food was superb.



The most comfortable bed – ever! - Rating 5/5

Really lovely staying here during the Dartmoor folk festival. There was live music playing below our room which was lovely and both myself and husband fell asleep before it had finished for the night. The most comfortable bed and bedding. Don't think I moved all night! Good blackout curtains too. I have so much trouble sleeping with thin, see through curtains.

Reviewer:Danielle C | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 day ago


Stay aug 9-10. - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night, had guests who joined us for dinner and an equally scrummy breakfast.Lovely property, very good service and we shall stay there again.Richard Leitch.

Reviewer:Richard L | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 day ago


A hotel for lovers of history - and good food! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the peace and quiet in our comfortable room ( Chagford) with excellent en suite. Full of character like the rest of this delightful hotel. The bar was v. Friendly busy place , the restaurant , heart of the ancient monastery, was a lovely room to eat in. The dinner and breakfast were well cooked and we had ample choice. All in all we shall recommend the Oxenham Arms to anyone wanting a break in this picturesque Dartmoor village.

Reviewer:mrs w | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 2 weeks ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay and explore Dartmoor, with friendly staff, good food and a relaxing atmosphere.

Reviewer:Geoffrey B | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Anniversary Celebration in a lovely setting. - Rating 5/5

Room and Hotel lovely.Food exceptional.Local knowledge and advice on walks easily available.Staff very helpful and polite.Made our celebration of our 30th wedding Anniversary brilliant.

Reviewer:Carolyn T | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay again- Rating 5/5

Our second stay at the Oxenham, just as memorable and fun as the first!

Reviewer:Andrew M | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Great hotel on the edge of Dartmoor - Rating 5/5

Beautiful old hotel, full,of character.The room was airy and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom.The staff were polite and helpful.We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was delicious .Would definitely recommend the hotel.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Louise S | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Great historic hotel - Rating 5/5

Another relaxing stay at the atmospheric Oxenham Arms. Great hosts, rooms &food. Highly recommended as a base for a Dartmoor visit yet still within an hour's drive of the south coast of Devon.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Eddie Yates| Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful five night stay in May. Very comfortable, everybody so friendly and helpful and the cooking was first class. We loved the historic atmosphere and the peaceful location in the village. We hope to return.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Aubrey Matthews| Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Atmospheric old coaching house with great food and accommodation- Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at th Oxenham arms.From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome and excellent service. The room was lovely with nice views and very comfortable bed. Really enjoyed our evening meal and recommend the night porter cheese board and half bottle of port! Special mention to John in the bar and restaurant who makes so much effort to engage with customers. Good base for national park or stop of A30 and nice pretty village of South Zeal. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Julie V | Sun 20th May 2018 | 2 months ago


A Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful hotel where we stayed for two nights in late April 18. With a very warm welcome from Simon, the proprietor I immediately felt at home. we were given the Lydford room and although the bathroom was a tad on the small size it certainly did not impact on our stay. The room itself was lovely with the most beautiful large four poster you can imagine, so comfortable and quiet.Dinner did not disappoint, and with lively conversation with John at the bar we had the most pleasant evening.Breakfast was spot on with a great choice and great coffee !!We found everyone so friendly and the actual hotel packed with history. We look forward to a return visit.

Reviewer:Mary G | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 3 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions